A DUI conviction in Tennessee can lead to harsh consequences. Jail time is even mandatory with a first offense DUI conviction. Anyone operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher can be convicted of a DUI under Tennessee law. This conviction can cause a person to lose their driving privileges and have a huge impact on a person’s life, both professionally and personally. If you have been arrested for a DUI, you could consult with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
A driver that’s convicted of a DUI the first time can face a minimum of between 48 hours and 7 days in jail depending on the blood alcohol level. But a first-time Dui can result in serving jail time up to 11 months and a required $350-$1,500 fine to be paid. The driver’s license may also be revoked for one year and the person will be court-ordered to participate in a drug and alcohol treatment program. When their license is reinstated, they are required to have an Ignition Interlock device installed in their vehicle at their own expense.
A second offense conviction results in a 45 day to 11-month jail stay with fines between $600 and $3,500. The driver loses their license for two years and must attend an alcohol and drug program and have the ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. The court could also order that their vehicle be seized or forfeited.
A driver that’s convicted of a DUI offense for the third time will spend between 120 days and 11 months in jail and be required to pay between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines. Their license will be revoked for six years total and the driver must attend an alcohol and drug treatment program. They will also be required to have an ignition device installed in their vehicle when they can have their license reinstated. Vehicle seizure or forfeiture may also be court-ordered.
A fourth offense is considered a Class E felony in the state of Tennessee. This conviction results in up to one year in jail with a minimum of 150 days to be served. The driver will also lose their license for up to 8 years. The fines that are required to be paid are between $3,000 and $15,000. They must complete a drug and alcohol program, obtain the ignition interlock device and have it installed in their vehicle and possibly lose their vehicle in seizure or forfeiture.
Contact A DUI Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DUI offense, it’s very important to start building a defense against these charges as soon as possible. A skilled Knoxville DUI defense attorney knows the varying factors that affect blood and breath alcohol testing results and can raise questions about the arrest being a valid one. Contact our Knoxville criminal defense lawyers today to learn how we can help defend yourself against these charges!